Sponsored by CAMH, CAMH ENGAGE and BMO

Third Annual Breakthrough Challenge

The Breakthrough Challenge showcases the very best and brightest minds at CAMH. The research conducted by our finalists has the potential for ground breaking results and cures that would be life-changing for loved-ones in the community and around the globe suffering from mental illness and addiction.

Last year over 77,055 votes were cast and it was a tie-breaker for the two finalists, Allison Crawford and Stephanie Ameis, each of whom received $10,000 to put towards their research programs.

Here is a look at the cutting-edge work of last year’s researchers.

Dr. Allison Crawford

Dr. Arun Tiwari

Dr. Stephanie Ameis

Dr. George Foussias

Whether it's delving into the complexities of the brain to prevent Alzheimer's or exploring the promise of epigenetics, CAMH is on the cusp of making breakthroughs in the diagnosis and prevention of mental illness.

The Breakthrough Challenge is an opportunity to showcase the very best and brightest minds at CAMH.

This year The Breakthrough Challenge will feature three of CAMH's most promising young researchers. Beginning on October 19th you can watch a video that explains their research and vote for the research project that speaks the most to you. Votes will be tallied on October 30th and the two finalists will debate live at our event on November 9th. Attendees will cast the final votes for the winner and runner up at the event, both of whom who will receive money towards their research program.

The Breakthrough Challenge

Wednesday, November 9th, 2016
7:00pm - 2nd Floor Events
461 King Street West, Toronto
(King & Spadina)

Tickets $135


Can't Make It?


Thank you for voting!
Help spread the word and share with your friends.

Sorry for the inconvenience

It looks like you're using a very old web browser. This site requires a browser capable of delivering a modern experience, such as the latest Chrome, Safari, Firefox, or Internet Explorer. Please consider upgrading for the benefit of the Web as a whole, and come back to cast your vote!

Google Chrome

Mozilla Firefox

Internet Explorer